Arizona State Official Apparel – Wear Your Pride!

Love Arizona State

The Arizona State Sun Devils are the athletic teams that represent Arizona State University. ASU has 9 guys’s and eleven ladies’s varsity teams competing at the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division I level as a member of the Pac-12 Conference. The mascot was adopted in 1946; earlier nicknames were the Normals and later, the Bulldogs. The Sun Devil mascot, Sparky, was developed by former Disney illustrator Bert Anthony. ASU’s chief rival is the University of Arizona Wildcats.

ASU has 24 NCAA team national championships, consisting of baseball (five times), females’s tennis (3 times), males’s gymnastics (one), males’s track and field (one), males’s indoor track and field (one), women’s outdoor track and field (two times), women’s indoor track and field (one), fumbling (one), guys’s golf (two times), women’s golf (8 times), and softball (two times). ASU also has numerous specific NCAA national champs in various sports. In addition, the baseball team has actually appeared in the College World Series 22 times, the men’s basketball team has actually participated in 13 NCAA tournaments, and the ASU football team won the Rose Bowl in 1987 and the Fiesta Bowl in 1971, 1972, 1973, 1975, and 1982.

ASU varsity groups won championship games in men’s archery 15 times, females’s archery 21 times, mixed archery 20 times, guys’s badminton 13 times, females’s badminton 17 times and mixed badminton 10 times, all of which are not acknowledged by the NCAA.

Arizona State University currently sponsors groups in 9 males’s and 14 women’s NCAA approved sports, following the 2015 elevation of the men’s ice hockey club team to university status: In the fall of 2015, Arizona State revealed the addition of females’s triathlon and females’s lacrosse. Triathlon will begin competition in the fall of 2016, with lacrosse starting competition in the spring of 2018. In spring 2016, ASU announced the reinstatement of men’s tennis, which had actually been dropped after the 2007– 08 academic year, but did not set a guaranteed date for the resumption of play.