– Exclusive Oklahoma Sooners Designs

ONLY Available at FanPrint

– 100% Secure Checkout With

VISA – PayPal – Mastercard – AMEX – Discovery

– 30 Day Returns

Take Your Time

– Printed in United States

Oklahoma Sooners, Loyalty Forever T Shirt

The Oklahoma Sooners are the athletic groups that represent the University of Oklahoma, located in Norman. The 19 guys’s and women’s varsity groups are called the “Sooners”, a recommendation to a nickname offered to the early participants in the Land Rush of 1889, which initially opened the Unassigned Lands in the future state of Oklahoma to non-native settlement. The university’s athletic teams compete in the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA)’s Division I in the Big 12 Conference. The university’s existing athletic director is Joe Castiglione.

The Sooners have actually been taking part in college football since 1895. Calling Gaylord Family Oklahoma Memorial Stadium at Owen Field home, the team has actually won numerous bowl games, 41 championship game (consisting of every Big Seven championship awarded), and seven Associated Press National Championships, making the Sooners football program the most embellished in the Big 12. Oklahoma has scored the most points in Division I-A football history despite the fact they have played over 60 fewer games than the second location school on that list. OU also has the greatest gaining percentage of any team since the start of the AP poll in 1936.

The Sooners possess 7 championship games in football, with the 1950, 1955, 1956, 1974, 1975, 1985, and 2000 seasons including the leading team in the Associated Press final poll, and the 2000 Bowl Championship Series National Championship also. This number is 3rd only to the Notre Dame Fighting Irish and the Alabama Crimson Tide (who have 9) for the most AP titles of any Division I college football team after completion of World War II (which is frequently used as the division in between eras in college football).

In addition to these seven acknowledged championship games there are also 9 additional years where the NCAA’s official record book acknowledges the Sooners as national champions: 1949, 1953, 1957, 1967, 1973, 1978, 1980, 1986, 2003. The University of Oklahoma does not acknowledge these additional “championships”, as they were not granted by the Associated Press, United Press International (UPI), USA Today Coaches Poll, or the Bowl Championship Series (BCS).

The Oklahoma team in a pregame huddle.
Private success is also a major part of Oklahoma football; 5 Heisman Trophy winners (Billy Vessels, Steve Owens, Billy Sims, Jason White and Sam Bradford) are surrounded by lots of other award winners, including NFL MVP Award winner Adrian Peterson, Joe Washington, Brian Bosworth, Tony Casillas, Greg Pruitt, Josh Heupel, Jerry Tubbs, Rocky Calmus, Granville Liggins, Teddy Lehman, Lee Roy Selmon, Roy Williams, Tommy McDonald, Mark Clayton, Tommie Harris, J.C. Watts, Keith Jackson and Jammal Brown. More than a lots Sooner players have actually been inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame. Oklahoma has more Butkus award winners than any other school.

Oklahoma University– Memorial Stadium– Norman, Oklahoma (6088942148).
Coaches Bennie Owen, Bud Wilkinson, and Barry Switzer have travelled through the gameday tunnel for the Sooners, each on his way to the College Football Hall of Fame. Owen was the first extremely successful coach at OU and was a significant advocate of the forward pass, which at the turn of the century was not popular. The playing surface at Oklahoma’s Gaylord Family Oklahoma Memorial Stadium is widely called Owen Field in honor of his long tenure and dedication to the university. Wilkinson left lots of imprints on the game, such as the 5-2 defense with 5 linemen and 2 linebackers; the excellence of the Split-T, an early option offense; three national championships; and his teams set the NCAA Division 1 record for successive wins at 47. The record of 47 straight wins is commonly considered as one of the great achievements in sports, and a streak that is unlikely to be broken (started October 10, 1953 vs. Texas and ended in 1957 with a loss to Notre Dame 7– 0). Switzer won three national championships (The National Championship of 1975 is highly questionable, Arizona State went 12– 0 that season while Oklahoma was 11– 1) and created probably the fiercest rushing offense ever, the Oklahoma wishbone formation, throughout the 1970s and 1980s. Though completion of Switzer’s period at Oklahoma was marked by debate and poor player habits, he is generally well regarded by both his previous players and Sooner fans. Throughout his 16 years as the Sooners’ head coach, Switzer led his team to 12 championship game and never lost more than two games in a row. His gaining percentage of.837 stands as the fourth-highest in the history of 1-A football. Other Hall of Fame coaches whose tenure included stints at the University of Oklahoma are Lawrence “Biff” Jones and Jim Tatum.