Proud Air Force Dad T-Shirt. Makes a perfect gift for the proud air force dads. Design Not available in stores.

Proud Air Force Dad T Shirt

The Air Force Falcons football program represents the United States Air Force Academy in college football at the NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision (previously Division I-A) level. Air Force has belonged to the Mountain West Conference since its starting in 1999. The Falcons play their home games at Falcon Stadium in Colorado Springs, Colorado. Troy Calhoun has been the team’s head coach since 2007.

The three major service academies– Air Force, Army, and Navy– compete for the Commander-in-Chief’s Trophy, which is awarded to the academy that defeats the others in football that year (or kept by the previous winner in the event of a three-way tie).

Falcon home games are played in Falcon Stadium, which sits below the main school at an elevation of 6,621 feet above sea level. Pre-game activities consist of flyovers by USAF aircraft, including the F-15 and B-2. The greatest participation at a home game was 56,409 spectators in 2002, when the Falcons battled the Notre Dame Fighting Irish.

The Falcons are not only recognized by the lightning bolt on the side of their helmets, but their traditional option attack. Air Force is among the premier rushing teams in the nation. Since Fisher DeBerry took control of as Falcons head coach in 1984, they have ranked among the country’s leading 10 in rushing 19 times in 21 years. The Air Force football team has delighted in success not only on the field but also in the class. In 49 years of Air Force football, there have actually been 39 Academic All-Americans.

1985 was the most successful season in Air Force football history. Under second-year coach Fisher DeBerry, the Falcons came within one win of playing for the national championship. They recorded 10 straight wins to begin the season, climbed the surveys to # 2 in the nation, but lost to BYU 28– 21 in the penultimate game of the regular season. Flying force rebounded with a championship game win over Texas in the Bluebonnet Bowl and finished with a 12– 1 record as the # 5 ranked team in the nation.

Since 1980, the Falcons and Colorado State Rams have actually competed for the Ram-Falcon Trophy. Air Force presently holds a 21-14 advantage over Colorado State in games that the trophy has been objected to in.

Beau Morgan ended up being the first player in NCAA history to rush and pass for over 1,000 yards in a season twice. He broke the NCAA single season rushing record for a quarterback, in addition to being only the second player in NCAA history to run and pass for 3,000 yards in a career.

Air Force has a standard rivalry versus the other two FBS service academies, Army and Navy; the three play for the right to hold the Commander-in-Chief’s Trophy. Flying force has held the prize 20 times, more than either Army or Navy. To name a few schools, Air Force has actually played more games versus Colorado State and Wyoming, having played each school 55 times since 1957, the Falcons’ first season.

The Air Force Falcons are the athletic groups that represent the United States Air Force Academy. The intercollegiate program has 17 males’s and 10 women’s NCAA-sanctioned teams. Men’s groups are football, baseball, basketball, ice hockey, cross-country, fencing, golf, gymnastics, indoor and outside track, lacrosse, rifle, soccer, swimming and diving, tennis, water polo and wrestling. The Academy fields ladies’s teams in basketball, cross-country, fencing, gymnastics, indoor and outside track, swimming and diving, soccer, tennis and volley ball. In addition, the Academy sponsors two non-NCAA programs: boxing and cheerleading.

The existing athletic director is Jim Knowlton. Most of the Falcons groups compete as members of the Mountain West Conference.

The falcon mascot was selected by popular vote of the Academy’s Class of 1959, the first class to finish from the Academy. The team mascot is “Mach 1” name of the first falcon presented to the academy on Oct 5, 1955, nevertheless each carrying out falcon is offered an individual name by its cadet falconer. The current mascot, a female white stage gyrfalcon named Aurora, has been the official mascot since 1996.

Flying force delighted in some success on the baseball diamond in its early years, earning six berths to the NCAA Division I playoffs (1961, 1962, 1964, 1966, 1967, 1969). The Falcons, nevertheless, never ever advanced beyond the district/regional rounds. The closest they have pertained to earning a NCAA berth since 1969 was in 2000, when the Falcons lost to San Diego State in the MWC competition national championship (which would have earned an automated berth).

The men’s basketball team has had strong showings in the last several years, qualifying for the NCAA tournament and, most recently, making the last four of the 2007 National Invitational Tournament. The best player in Air Force history (According to ESPN) is Bob Beckel, who scored 50 points in a game against Arizona in 1959 and scored over 45 points on 3 other events. The best Coach in Air Force history is Bob Spear, who coached for 15 years (1956– 1971), had a Career record of 177-175, and led the Falcons to 2 NCAA Tournament Appearances.

The females’s basketball team competed at the Division II level in both the AIAW and NCAA from 1976-1996. Since then, the team has competed at the Division I level.

The Air Force boxing team has actually had astonishing success. Led for 31 years by Coach Ed Weichers, the team has actually won 18 National Collegiate Boxing Association championships, and till 2009, had actually never finished lower than second in the nation. In 2009, the team finished third in the Nation.

From 2007-2009, the men’s hockey team won 3 straight Atlantic Hockey conference tournaments, and made three straight appearances in the NCAA Division I hockey competition. Their 2007 appearance in the NCAA competition was the first ever by a service academy. In the East Regional of the 2009 NCAA Tournament, Air Force upset top seed Michigan 2-0, and just missed going to the Frozen Four in a 3-2 double overtime loss to Vermont.

Air Force has fielded a NCAA men’s lacrosse team since 1967. They appeared in the Division I Championship competition in 1977, 1988, 2014, 2016, and 2017. The team competes in the Southern Conference as an associate member.

The Falcon wrestling team started competitors in 1957 and presently competes in the Big 12 Conference (the Mountain West does not sponsor wrestling). From 2006 to 2015, the Falcons had been a member of the Western Wrestling Conference (WWC), but the conference chose to dissolve after the 2014– 15 academic year when all of its members accepted a deal of single-sport subscription in the Big 12. Home battling events are held at either the Cadet East Gym or at Clune Arena. The team is presently coached by former Olympian Joel Sharratt in his 8th season, and former national champion for the University of Iowa, under the tutelage of legendary coach Dan Gable.

The Air Force rugby program was developed in 1968 and began completing in college rugby in 1980. Air Force competes in the west division of the College Premier Division against competitors such as Colorado State and Wyoming. Air Force has been one of the most successful programs in college rugby. Air Force finished as among the top 3 groups in the country 11 times from 1980-1995, consisting of back-to-back national championships in 1989 and 1990. More just recently, Air Force were national champs once again in 2003 and third place in 2004. Numerous Air Force players have actually gone on to play for the US guys’s national rugby team. Flying force won the 2012 Rocky Mountain Sevens tournament to receive the 2012 USA Rugby Sevens Collegiate National Championships. Air Force also played in the 2013 USA Rugby Sevens Collegiate National Championships, reaching the quarterfinals.